January 08, 2020

Published Wednesday, January 08, 2020 with 0 comment

Foods You Think Are Vegan But Aren’t

Not very long back vegan diet was considered quite exclusive, but no more. Now going vegan almost seems like trend. It’s environment friendly, ethical and has proven health benefits. There are a whole lot of celebrities turning vegan with the likes of Brad Pitt, Ellen Degeneres, Bryan Adams and more for the mostly for the health benefits it offers.

If you have also caught on to the vegan wave or are wanting to give it a try, here’s a list of some common foods that are mistaken to be vegan but are not. So, the next time you pick up something from the shelf, you’ll know exactly what to pick and what to leave out.

Veganism at a glance – What’s off limits for vegans:

·         All types of meats including but not limited to beef, lamb, horse, pork, veal, organ meat, wild meat, etc.
·         All types of sea food including but not limited to of fish, anchovies, shrimp, squid, scallops, calamari, mussels, crab, lobster and fish sauce.
·         All types of poultry including but not limited to chicken, turkey, goose, duck, quail, etc.
·         All types of eggs including but not limited to eggs from chickens, quails, ostriches and fish.
·         All types of dairy including but not limited to Milk, yogurt, cheese, butter, cream, ice cream, etc.
·         All types of bee products including but not limited to honey, bee pollen, royal jelly, etc.

Foods that are not necessarily vegan:

While cocoa is vegan, chocolate mostly contains milk or one or the other form of dairy product, even dark chocolate does. Check the ingredients – if the chocolate contains whey or casein, it’s not vegan.

Gummies, marshmallows and other candies mostly contain gelatin which is extracted from animal collagen, or agar-agar, another animal product.

Non-dairy Creamers
While non-dairy sounds like vegan, but most contain sodium caseinate, a milk extract.

Wine and Beer
You’d be surprised to know that your wine and beer may contain Isinglass, fish extract, casein and egg whites, and most of these products may not even be listed.

Regular white sugar is processed with bone char that gives it it’s color. Organic sugar or non-white sugar is vegan.

Red Colored Foods
Most of the red color in foods is carmic acid also known as carmine or cochineal which is extracted from an insect. If you are pure vegan, red may actually mean danger.

If not otherwise mentioned, most breads are non-vegan. They contain milk, eggs, butter, yeast or other animal products.

Discount coupons to help you save  Get Discount



Post a Comment